My Brother

A couple of nights ago Steve and I were up 4-5 times in the night (too much root beer Steve says).  Each time I helped him get back in bed I could not position him correctly or push him up towards the top where his pillow was.  He still thanked me and said it was Okay. But it was not Okay. Nothing about what is happening to him is Okay. I watch my brother as he struggles with every simple task.  He is more patient with himself than I would ever be with myself.  He lives his life with very little complaint. He finds humor in many situations.

This trip has been full of conversation, tears and laughter.  It has been such a gift for me to share this experience of great beauty with my beautiful family. I will cherish my memories of this trip just as I cherish my brother.

Holly

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kellie on September 29, 2010 at 11:14 am

    Beautiful picture. Beautiful post.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Tracy on September 29, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    Hol,

    T

    Reply

Leave a comment